Ethos Erlanger's Virtual Building Blog

Building in Virtual Worlds

Bugs Abound in OpenSim

Posted by Ethos Erlanger on February 15, 2010

First, I want to send a big THANK YOU to the many hard working developers of Open Simulator.  They are  squashing bugs and making things better for all of us that are the users of an OpenSim server.  They are allowed to think outside the box that the Linden corporate employees are trapped in.  The one thing they have given us in OS that I truly appreciate is control over the velocity of the avatar walk.  Linden Lab should make this available to region managers in Second Life.

Now, I will step down off my soap box and get back on topic.  As a builder, I use the OpenSim Server Software to create a sandbox region on my local computer.  I am actually using the Diva Distro and enjoy the seamless region crossing, and the large open space that I have to work with.  As a builder, I enjoy collaboration and actually thrive on the inspiration I get from creative texturists and other builders.  I prefer working with a friend rather than working alone.  Here is where the bug I refer to is causing us serious difficulty.  I think we can refer to this bug as the Edit Permissions Bug.  I cannot edit the prims that have been created by my co-builder.  As friends, we give each other permission to edit each others objects, but that just isn’t working in OpenSim as it does in Second Life.

One of the key reasons for having my own sandbox is the desire to leave things out to be worked on by my collaborator.  Without this feature working, we are simply working independently on our own builds and would just as well be working in a vacuum except for the occasional useful comment (or cheeky remark) back and forth to each other.  This bug needs to be squashed.

The next issue is the bug I experience when trying to import large prim-count builds into OpenSim.  I have used the Meerkat and Imprudence viewers to import builds and they each deal with permissions differently, but after the export, the import is simply a matter of the viewer interacting with the Open Simulator Server.  Open Sim will crash with either of the viewers when I attempt to import objects with significant numbers of prims.  This bug is being investigated by one developer, and I wish him all the best for his efforts.

When creators of content are able to move their artistic endeavors back and forth to Second Life with a minimum of difficulty there will begin to be a larger use of the OpenSim as a tool that can be used by those who are creating content.  It is that creativity and the resulting content that will drive the Virtual Economy in the future for all virtual worlds.

Enjoy your Virtual Life,

Ethos Erlanger

Leave a Reply

 
