Ethos Erlanger's Virtual Building Blog

Building in Virtual Worlds

A Challenge to OpenSim Developers

Posted by Ethos Erlanger on February 17, 2010

Now that Hippo and Meerkat have dropped out of the viewer scene, what is the viewer that is considered the officially approved viewer for Open Simulator use?  You know… the one that can be mentioned in bug reports without the real bug being excused away and dismissed by some developers because I was not using the right (official) viewer.  I sure hope my last bug report isn’t dismissed because it is a viewer crash.  The viewers do not crash when I am in SL doing uploads of textures, so I feel the bug is with the OpenSim server software. All I’m doing is uploading texture images into OpenSim.

I know you have a lot on your plate, but please address bugs that happen to all the viewers, not just your favored one. And tell me…. what is that favored viewer these days?

Enjoy your Virtual Life,

Ethos Erlanger

2 Responses to “A Challenge to OpenSim Developers”

  1. Ethos – The OpenSim project has no offical or preferred viewer, though it is true that many people were fond of Hippo for a long while and OSGrid might have recommended it for their grid (can’t quite remember).

    Since there is no official server-client communications standard, it’s difficult to address all issues since the clients can vary what they do. However, the popular clients (such as Linden Lab’s own unaltered client) should work. If they don’t then there is certainly a valid bug with OpenSim’s Second Life compatibility layer.

  2. Justin,
    Thanks for your reply. I am sharpening my skills at isolating what actually takes place when there is a crash. In this stage of the development process, I know it is useful for bug reports to have as much detail as possible. I have never been at the bleeding edge of a project like this. But I am not leaving for any reason, not even a few crashes.

    Keep up the good work.

    Ethos

Leave a Reply

 
